Ping with WiFi Gaming

Hello!

I’ve been enjoying my AP6 Pro for a few months now. I just tried to play Valorant on a gaming laptop over WiFi, and it was impossible. My ping/lag spikes were every 15-30 seconds and the entire game would freeze for a while. I tested over Ethernet, and there were no such issues. So, I swapped out the AP with a TP-Link EAP670, and there were no such ping issues.

There aren’t many settings I can change with the AP6 Pro to test, but I would love suggestions.

I should also state that I have tried four different DNS servers including Comcast’s own. I tried static and DHCP.

Firmware: 2.0b

First picture should be AP6 Pro ping test, then Ethernet, then TP-Link EAP670.

Hello! What version are your APs on?

That is also something I should have added.

2.0b

Are you also using vLANS and/or any filtering within the Alta AP?

I am not. Flat network within Alta. There is one VLAN in general for my network, which goes to a different building.

No filtering enabled on firewall, no IDP/IPS or anything.

Five minutes of pings from my iPhone on iOS 17.1.2. My bet is that your wireless device is a little overly aggressive in its power saving (which is highly dependent on what else is going on with the device), which could easily be confirmed with a monitor mode packet capture. I would make sure you are using the very latest wireless driver, too. You can improve your pings during gaming by running a 100 ms-interval ping in the background :wink:

I’m just more confused how the AP6 Pro has poor ping but another access point doesn’t, from the same device in the same location.

Edit:
I share my internet with my parents via a 60Ghz antenna. I just went over their house to test via WiFi (EAP620HD I believe), and their ping test is perfect just like mine was on a TP-Link AP. So, the only anomaly is the Alta AP, which results in poor ping performance across all devices I’ve tested (not just the gaming PC).